Amazon In Training

Only Superman owns more spandex.

Zumba burns 800-1,000 Calories…ish

on September 6, 2012

I’ve seen this floating around and something about it just doesn’t sit right…

20120906-214413.jpg

I mean, you all know me, I LOVE Zumba, really. But I work out with a heart rate monitor, and I have done Turbo Kick at full intensity with sweat just bucketing down my face and burned 450 calories (for 45 minutes of Cardio that ain’t bad). So when I saw this… 800 to 1,000 calories? Really? OK, you’re the meme, you must know what you’re talking about. I guess those cha-chas were working bigger muscle groups than I thought.

But ACE came out with a recent report… about Zumba and how it is fun, sure, but how great of a workout is it. Their consensus was that it is a great workout, more effective for calorie burning than quite a few other types:

20120906-213242.jpg
So yeah, it is great. And this quote from the article emphasizes my favorite part:
““The surprising thing is that it doesn’t matter what fitness level you’re at—our research shows that in Zumba classes everyone is working out at the zone that’s recommended for improving cardio health,” says Luettgen. “Both fit people and less-fit people are going to get an equally good workout.”

But back to my question. 800-1,000 calories? ACE lays down a number. The average participant burns 369 calories. Certainly not shabby, but I just can’t believe the Internet would lie like this.

(This meme also commits the sin of using the word ‘tone’. A word I hate slightly more than I do the word ‘buns’)

ETA I found this picture on the internet and realized that I was wrong- maybe the original meme was using She-Hulk as a test sample? I bet with her muscle mass she burns 800-1,000 calories.

20120906-215148.jpg

Leave a Reply

